The Google Health app has launched worldwide, replacing the Fitbit app.
In May 2026, Google announced that the Fitbit app was becoming the Google Health app.
You can read more about the update here: https://blog.google/products-and-platforms/products/google-health/google-health-app/.
For information on what's changed see: https://support.google.com/googlehealth/answer/17068213
For community help and information about new releases: https://support.google.com/googlehealth/community?product_label=googlehealth-app
From September 2026, Google is turning off the old Fitbit servers and has introduced a new way for all third-party apps to sync data.
If you previously connected your Big Team Challenge account to Fitbit, you must update your connection to Google Health before the 30th September 2026.
If you haven't connected before and have the Google Health app, you should connect using the Google Health option and choose the correct Google account on the sign-in page.
How to update your connection
On the Big Team Challenge mobile app:
Open the Main Menu
Click on Sync Device
On the challenge website website:
Click on My Account (top right), then Sync Devices
Your Fitbit connection should show a migration message with a 'Start update' button. Click on this to view more information and then click 'Reconnect with Google'.
You'll be redirected to or shown a Google login screen. You must select the same Google account as you used with Fitbit and is now connected on the Google Health app. If you're not sure, you can click the profile icon on the top right of the Google Health app to see the account details.
On the permissions screen, you will be asked to allow Big Team Challenge to "See your Google Health activity and fitness data". Click "Continue" to allow this permission.
You should be redirected back to the sync screen and see Google Health as the connected app. Steps will sync shortly (but not immediately) after your Google Health app syncs your steps to Google's servers.
Please note: there is currently a known issue on Google's side where synced totals are lower than what appears on your device or inside the Google Health app. Please see our help article for more information.



